Library Resource Guide for Homeschoolers

Skokie Public Library offers many items for checkout and in-library use, as well as online resources that can be accessed from home, to enrich your homeschool experience.

Circulating collection

Come On In!

Computer Lab and Digital Media Lab

Homework help websites

Live Homework Help

Museum Adventure Pass

Parent, teacher, and caregiver websites

Reference collection

Research databases

Skokie Public Library catalog


Circulating Collection

Our Youth Services collection holds over 100,000 items that complement your homeschooling curriculum. All books, puppets, and CDs check out for three weeks and may be renewed multiple times. Magazines and DVD's check-out for one week.

  • Fiction books are shelved by author and divided into four collections -- Readers, Easy Fiction, Fiction, and Jr. High -- to help you and your child find books that are age- and reading-level appropriate.
  • Non-fiction books are shelved by Dewey Decimal number in two collections Nonfiction and Easy Reader Nonfiction. Up to 10 items on one topic may be checked out.
  • Non-fiction DVDs are conveniently shelved with non-fiction books of the same topic for easier research.
  • Magazines are a great tool for lesson plans and research. Magazines from the last twelve months are available for check-out with the exception of the most recent month. Here's just a taste of the magazines we carry in Youth Services!

    For adults...
        Gifted Child Today
        Home Education Magazine
        Instructor
        Mailbox

        Parenting: Early Years
        Parenting: School Years
        Teaching Young Children
    For children...
        Appleseeds
        ASK
        Calliope

        Cobblestone
        Cricket
        Current Health
        Dig
        Kids Discover
        Muse
        Odyssey
        Time for Kids

Back to Top

Come On In!

In partnership with Niles Township District for Special Education (NTDSE), the Youth Services Staff has been trained to better understand and serve children with disabilities. The Come On In! project offers specialized services, programs, and resources for families and for educators who care for children of varying abilities.

Back to Top

Computer Lab and Digital Media Lab

The 14 computers in the Youth Services Computer Lab include Internet access and Microsoft Excel, PowerPoint, and Word. The Computer Lab also houses a Digital Media Lab with two iMac computers, with many software titles and peripherals that allow you to play and record music; film and edit video recordings; shoot, enhance, and manipulate photos; and create graphic designs. Additional computers in the Youth Services Department are available for educational games. During the school year, the Computer Lab hours are:

Monday through Friday from 3:00 to 8:45pm (last sign-in at 8:30pm)
Saturday from 9:00am to 5:45pm (last sign-in at 5:30pm)
Sunday from 12:00noon to 5:45pm (last sign-in at 5:30pm)

During extended school breaks, the Computer Lab is open as follows:

10:30am to 7:30pm (last sign in at 7:15pm)
Saturday from 10:30am to 5:45pm (last sign-in at 5:30pm)
Sunday from 12:00noon to 5:45pm (last sign-in at 5:30pm)

For more information about the Computer Lab and computer resources for children at Skokie Public Library, call 847.324.3186.

Back to Top

Homework Help Websites

Great sites for homework help!

Back to Top

Live Homework Help

Skokie Public Library subscribes to Live Homework Help, an online tutoring service that connects students with expert tutors. Children and young adults in Kindergarten through college can log in to Live Homework Help to work with a tutor on math, science, social studies, and English assignments. Students in Kindergarten through 8th grade may access Live Homework Help from the Youth Services Computer Lab during hours that the Lab is open. High school and college students may access Live Homework Help from the Adult Services Computer Lab. Live Homework Help is also available from home for Skokie Public Library cardholders.

For more information about Live Homework Help, call Brad Jones, Youth Technology Librarian, at 847.324.3104.

Back to Top

Museum Adventure Pass

The Macy’s Museum Adventure Pass program provides discounted admission to many cultural destinations throughout the Chicago area to library card holders at over 140 suburban public libraries. Passes are available for in-person checkout on a first-come, first-served basis at the Youth Services Desk.

Back to Top

Parent, Teacher, and Caregiver Websites

The staff of Skokie Public Library has compiled a list of sites containing information and support resources to help parents and teachers.

Back to Top

Reference Collection

Volumed encyclopedias and atlases on geography, world cultures, animals, diseases, inventions, famous people, and more make our reference collection an invaluable tool to researchers.

Back to Top

Research Databases

Kid-friendly databases are useful for finding magazine articles, photographs, and reference information on popular research topics. These databases are available in-Library and via the Internet for Skokie Public Library cardholders.

Web resource Web resource  Available everywhere with your Skokie Public Library card Available with Skokie Public Library card  Available in Library only Available in Library only

Available everywhere with your Skokie Public Library card Britannica Online for Kids
Retrieve content from Compton's Encyclopedia by Britannica, and Britannica Elementary as well as media, videos, websites, and learning materials. Magazine articles are also available.
Available everywhere with your Skokie Public Library card CultureGrams Online
Country reports about daily life, culture, customs, courtesies, and lifestyles of more than 187 countries and the 50 United States. A photo gallery, famous people collection, and recipes from around the world are also available.
Available everywhere with your Skokie Public Library card Early World of Learning from World Book Online
Early World of Learning offers stories, games, and activities to help early learners build vocabulary, comprehension, phonics, and reading skills. Content includes narrated stories with word-by-word highlighting, interactive games, interactive reference materials for beginners, and more.
Available everywhere with your Skokie Public Library card Kids Search from EBSCO
Search for articles and pictures in this kid-friendly database especially for students in kindergarten through 5th grade. Subjects include animals, art and music, geography, health, news, language arts, math, science, social studies, and sports.
Available everywhere with your Skokie Public Library cardScience Online from Facts on File
Science Online contains scientific information for students in all areas of science. Use this resource to find science experiments, videos, diagrams, articles, and biographies of famous scientists.
Available everywhere with your Skokie Public Library card Searchasaurus
Search by keyword or browse by subject for articles from magazines, newspapers, and encyclopedias. Subjects include animals, art and music, health, history, people and places, science and math, sports, and stories. A dictionary, encyclopedia, and picture collection are also available. Designed for students in kindergarten through 8th grade.
Available everywhere with your Skokie Public Library card TeachingBooks.net
Audio excerpts of book readings by authors and professional actors; original movies featuring authors and illustrators at work in their studios; book discussion guides; and links to author websites, biographies, activities, and contact information. An "Educator Area" provides thematic booklists, information about children's book awards, and links to related resources in twenty-five categories. Content is divided equally between elementary school-aged content and middle/high school-aged content.
Available everywhere with your Skokie Public Library card World Book Online Info Finder
Includes all the articles from the print versions of the World Book Encyclopedia, plus thousands of additional articles, learning resources, and research tools.

Back to Top

Skokie Public Library Catalog

To find a book on home schooling using the main search menu of the Library's catalog, enter one of the following:

  • Domestic Education
  • Education, Preschool
  • Education -- Parent participation
  • Home Schooling

Titles can also be found by doing a search with the words "home school," "homeschool," and "homeschooling." Type the word "AND" plus other key words to make your search results more specific.

Back to Top