Mystery Authors You May Have Missed
Donna Andrews


Donna Andrews was born in Yorktown, Virginia (the setting of Murder with Peacocks and Revenge of the Wrought Iron Flamingos); attended the University of Virginia; and now lives and works in Reston, Virginia. When not writing fiction, Andrews is a self-confessed nerd, rarely found without her laptop. She is a member of Sisters in Crime, Mystery Writers of America, and the Private Investigators and Security Association.

What she writes: Witty, suspenseful, and heavy on the humor, Donna Andrews writes about a likable heroine Meg Langslow, a "decorative blacksmith." Meg, with a cast of offbeat supporting characters, wends her way through life. A good read for cozy readers looking for a lighthearted romp with loads of laughs, where the characters tend to outshine the mystery.

The Turing Hopper series follows Andrews's humorous bent, but readers of her Meg Langslow series may be surprised to learn that the main character, Turing Hopper, is an Artificial Intelligence Personality, an almost-sentient computer. This series has a high tech flavor and may appeal more to readers comfortable with computer technology and science fiction.


List of works
Meg Langlow Series
  Murder with Peacocks (1997) We'll Always Have Parrots (2004)
  Murder with Puffins (2000) Owls Well That Ends Well (2005)
  Revenge of the Wrought Iron Flamingos (2001) No Nest for the Wicket (2006)
  Crouching Buzzard, Leaping Loon (2003)  
Turing Hopper Series
  You've Got Murder (2002) Access Denied (2004)
  Click Here for Murder (2003) Delete All Suspects (2005)
Short stories in anthologies
  "The Birthday Dinner", Death Dines In, Claudia Bishop and Dean James, editors (2004)
  "Cold Spell", Powers of Detection, Dana Stabenow, editor (2004)
  "Night Shades", Chesapeake Crimes, Donna Andrews, coordinating editor (2004)
  "An Unkindness of Ravens", The Mysterious North: Tales of Suspense from Alaska, Dana Stabenow, editor (2002)


Agatha Award, Anthony Award, and Barry Award, all for best first novel of 1999, and Lefty Award, for funniest mystery book of 1999, all for Murder with Peacocks; Agatha Award, best novel of 2002, for You've Got Murder.

What the critics say
Regarding Murder with Peacocks - "Loquacious dialog, persistent humor, and interrupted romance brand the 1997 winner of the publisher's "Malice Domestic" contest. A fun, breezy read." - Library Journal (January 1, 1999)
Regarding You've Got Murder - "Ever since HAL ran off the rails in 2001, it's been only a matter of time until somebody put a computer to work on the right side of the law. Turing fills the bill with more energy and charm than most fictional detectives." - Kirkus Reviews (February 15, 2002)
Regarding Owls Well That Ends Well - "As usual, Andrews provides plenty of fun, including Meg's penchant for reciting collective nouns that pertain to birds, such as a "parliament of owls" and a "murmuration of starlings." Another laugh-out-loud lark that will leave readers singing Andrews' praises." - Booklist (March 15, 2005)


Learn about other Mystery Authors You May Have Missed.